top of page

Writing, a special visitor and girl's night out

Hey everyone

Oops, reading back over my last update, I forgot to write anything about my writing. That gives you a little bit of insight into how my writing is going...forgetting to write.

I've got a few stories sitting in the unfinished stage on my Wattpad account. I tickled the keys in May, and published a chapter, but that was the last time I published anything on there. Life just got kind of hectic with work, mental health, moving, etc. I've been trying to write again - I have a chapter in drafts for one of my stories. It's not that I've lost interesting writing, it's just that I don't feel like I have the time anymore. And when I do find myself with time, the words just won't flow, so I stare at the blank screen and eventually log out.

On the weekend of 21 July 2018, I had a special visitor - my brother. It was so lovely! I picked him up at around 4:30pm and we came back to my house. Gluten free Lasagne was on the menu and tasted pretty good, I must say! We poured ourselves each a glass of Coke, and had a really nice chat. It was so lovely, we talked about life, work, friends...everything. Time to catch up with him again soon, I think.

Flat life is great! All completely settled in now. I bought myself a bookshelf and put it all together on the Friday, the night before my brother came to visit. It was so nice to get my books out of the two boxes, and have them all nicely arranged on the shelf. One book got a bit bent which hurt my heart a little. I sandwiched it between to books to help straighten it up. It feels so cosy and homely in my room now, and the bookshelf fit perfectly into the little corner by my door. And it looks so sweet with the A I got from family friends, the geometric ceramic bunny I got at Kmart, and the fairy lights - one a gift and one I bought myself. It just looks so friendly. I've since popped a diffuser on top of the bookshelf and it all looks so sweet.

Everything else in the flat has some together so nicely. We've each got our schedules so it all works out that we see each other enough to catch up, but don't live in each other's pockets. It was her birthday a week ago, and I decided to treat her to dessert out at Iguana. It was so yummy (see below). I got the pecan tart with pecan ice cream, raspberry and passionfruit coulis, whipped cream and chocolate cookie soil. My friend got the chocolate brownie with cream, sorbet, orange and chocolate sauce. Then of course we each grabbed a delicious cocktail because it was a special night. It was so lovely!

Some reading news: I've finally taken the plunge and started reading City of Bones. I devoured the series on Netflix and was quite surprised they've cancelled the show - considering the final episode had a major cliffhanger! I'm a couple chapters into the book, and it's been hard to put down. I'm reading it via the library app on my phone, and I've been falling asleep mid-sentence. In the morning, I silence my alarm and go to unlocked my phone to see what the world is up to, before I get up. And lately when I unlock my phone, the last page I read is staring back at me.

I finally gave in to the hype and watched The Greatest Showman over the weekend, and let me just say, it was as amazing as everyone said it was! If you love musicals, drama, a bit of comedy...this is for you. Be sure to have a tissue nearby, but it will also bring a smile to your face. Also, I greatly appreciate Hugh Jackman's incredible voice! He's like the Morgan Freeman of singing and I could listen to him all day.

Hope you are all having a wonderful life!

Aletia xx

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page