top of page

Puppy Treats and Homemade Marmalade

Hi everyone!

It's been quite a while since I last posted on here.

I've moved...again. Back home this time. Going to be here for around a month before I look at a new flat in the New Year. I'll make more updates on this... I made an entire video on my YouTube channel about this! (See my next post for this link)

It's almost Christmas...5 days to be exact! I've finished all my Christmas shopping, given the gifts to my friends and the rest are all fathered up and ready to take to the Lakehouse for our family Christmas holiday! Even bought a little treat for the puppies (and made one too. you can find the recipe below).

I've finished my degree...passed the year with three A's and three B's! So stoked!

Next up is graduation application in January and then donning the cap and gown in March if my application is approved. Fingers crossed!

I'm also working semi-full-time now... 30 hours a week! I love my job and have learnt so much! It's such a great environment!

More life updates to come in another post, but for this post I really wanted to share two recipes I've recently discovered (and made)!

Hope you enjoy them and have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Aletia xx

Puppy Treats

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter

1 cup gluten free or rice flour

2Tbsp coconut oil

1/3 cup water

Melt coconut oil in a microwave-save bowl. Add peanut butter to oil and mix until peanut butter is "melted". Add flour and water. stir until a "cookie" dough forms. Roll out on floured surface and press out small shape with little cookie cutters, or just cut into small pieces about 1in x 1in in size. Bake at 180'C for 15-20 minutes (keep an eye on them!) Store in an airtight container and only give one treat at a time.

___________________________________________________________________________

Homemade Marmalade:

3-4 medium grapefruit - red or orange (should equal about 2 cups)

2 cups of white sugar - (one cup for each cup of grapefruit).

Sterilise 2-3 glass jars in a hot water bath in the sink (the water should be hot enough that you can't put your hand in it).

Use a peeler to take just the zest off the grapefruit (avoid going deep to the pith because it's very bitter). Slice the zest into thin strips and put into a microwave safe bowl - glass is best!

Slice the pith off the grapefruit and quarter the juicy flesh. Remove any seeds. Add grapefruit to a 250ml cup/mug. (probably best to slice them in a plate because there is LOTS of juice you don't want to waste!)

Add any juice to the bowl along with the grapefruit pieces. Measure out the right amount of sugar 1:1 and add to the bowl of grapefruit. Mix together.

Put in the microwave on HIGH, uncovered for 20 minutes! Stir every 5 minutes.

After you've reached the 20 minute mark, use a wooden spoon to drop a little amount on a plate. If it goes sticky within 1 minute, it's ready to put into the jar.

Take the jars out of the sink and dry them off very well. Carefully pour the marmalade into the jars (it will be VERY hot).

Put the lids on tightly and leave to cool on a tea towel, over night. The lid 'poppers' will pop in by themselves to seal the jars well.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page