top of page

Graduating! books and more!

Hey everyone!

I've just realized that I haven't posted on here in over six months! So much has happened since then and I thought I'd tap the keys and fill you in.

March 2017 I donned a maroon lace maxi dress, black high heels and the whole cap-gown shebang. I strutted across a stage in front of heaps of people, including my whole family. At the end of my thankfully non-tripping walk across the stage, I was greeted by a smiling woman who handed me my degree and directed my attention towards a camera which took our picture. As I walked off the stage, still trying not to trip, and people pointed me in the right direction to go in order to get back to my seat, it suddenly hit me. I had just graduated. I was officially not a student anymore. It was bittersweet.

Afterwards, my family and I lined up to get photos taken (they turned out beautifully). I had a quick chat with a friend and then my family went to the lake for a bite to eat. It was so lovely. After returning home to get changed, I headed in to work.

It was such a great day and I was actually really happy to say goodbye to student-hood, even though I'd technically fare-welled that part of my life last year.

Now I am still living at home, trying to find a place that looks nice and fits neatly into my price range, but it's been hard. So many people looking for flatmates are students and that's not part of my life anymore. I want to be around people like me, who are up for a nice chat but also understand the need to be alone sometimes too. I've considered moving into a place on my own but that also sounds lonely, especially as I won't be able to take my dog with me.

In other news, I've slowly been getting back into reading. I should say very slowly, because I managed to power through one book in less than two days, and then picked up another which has taken me over a month and I'm not even halfway - haha. I tried picking up Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver again, because I've been determined to finish the last few chapters and film a book review, but I can't find the motivation because the book is so sad and I know what's going to happen and it breaks my heart. Fiction can sometimes feel so real, like you know the person in the book and you feel like you're literally watching them die. (totally not a spoiler)

I've also been attempting to pick up writing again. Wattpad is my main writing platform, where I've been writing a story called Little Things. I'm currently about 12 or so chapters deep into it and trying to find a way to write it without being cliche or too obvious. I think I've found my angle now and I'm hoping I can keep to it.

Let's talk TV shows for a second. Pretty Little Liars...um, what the hell Marlene King?! That Series finale was kinda strange. The big reveal for AD (don't worry, I won't spoil it if you haven't watched the series yet - I would recommend you do, because the rest of it is actually quite good!) was actually really disappointing. I had this big idea of who it might be, and who they revealed just seemed completely random and didn't fit in with the story at all. It was strange. There were so many other people it could have been, who would have made much more sense. It just seemed rushed at the end, even though Marlene said it had been an idea she'd been working with for two years. The storyline felt like they weren't actually sure who AD should be so they just threw names into a hat and pulled out a random one and thought "yes this is it!" A seven year build up that fell a bit flat, I'm sorry to say. I know the person who played AD was really thrilled with how it ended and they had been excited about playing the "bad guy" but it could still have been better. But anyway, PLL is now completely over and it was sad to say good bye to the characters who had worked closely together for seven years - even though I'd only really been emotionally involved in their lives for a few months. It was still sad to say goodbye because you feel like you know these people, even though they're just fictional characters.

Another TV show I watched kind of recently is "Thirteen Reasons Why". I read the book a little while ago and was really excited when they brought out the TV show on Netflix. It was really (controversially) good. They really covered the dark topic of suicide really well and I think it will definitely have an impact on society, which it should. Suicide is such a taboo topic and people don't talk about it enough. That's why it keeps happening. People should be able to talk about it, to stop it from happening. Anyway, I'm rambling here - I did a whole video about my thoughts on it. It's on my YouTube channel if you want to check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et_2rTde0Qc&t=42s

I've moved onto a new show called The Vampire Diaries which was "the thing" years ago and I never got into the original hype of it. But now I can't stop watching it. Between working and sleeping, I've managed to power through an entire season in one week. Let's maybe not mention that quite a few of those episodes were devoured (no pun intended - haha) yesterday.

Anyway, that's my little update on life. I've included a few little photos below for you to see.

Until my next update...which hopefully won't be too far away.

Aletia xx

1: Books I bought at this awesome book fair where all the books were under $5!

2: A book I read at Christmas time.

3: The puppies

4: I got new glasses and a hair cut my sister did.

5: Before I Fall makes me cry

6: Flowers my family got me for graduating!

7: All ready to graduate

8: The cover for my book "Little Things" that I'm busy writing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page